Accessing Oracle through the OLEDB provider

ODBC Connectivity, ELFs , Windows API etc.

Moderators: Phil Winkler, Graham Smith, Pete Tabord

Accessing Oracle through the OLEDB provider

Postby KjetilUrne » Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:25 pm

I've tried to connect to different Oracle DBs using the OLEDB provider engine.

Setting up an UDL-fil works fine and Ffenics manage (at least to some point) to interpret the structure (read: Table names) of pretty complex databases.

BUT: whenever i try to open any table the result is always a disappointing "Exiting due to Exception: Access violation"-breakdown.

Anyone that can confirm that Ffenics can cope with OLEDB/Oracle?
KjetilUrne
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Postby Graham Smith » Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:25 pm

I know that it was tested during development, so it does work. What I don't know is what versions were tested, but I'm guessing it is a fairly recent version.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Postby KjetilUrne » Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:04 am

The version in my case:

Ffenics Build Number: FF_00212
PRISM RDMS Build Number: DC_00212
KjetilUrne
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Postby Pete Tabord » Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:23 am

Hi Kjetl

We do have a customer running live using OLEDB to Oracle, not sure which versions, also we have it set up here for testing using Oracle 10G

Regards
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Postby KjetilUrne » Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:58 am

OK, I'll do some checks on different verisons of Oracle... and wait for the next upgrade if i keep on having the same problems
KjetilUrne
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Postby tasos » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:21 pm

Hello Kjetl
We currently have several Ffenics applications with OLE DB links to two different Oracle applications. One of the oracle databases is version 8.3.1 and it is hosting the Oracle Financials. The links operate in a reasonable way. I found then very useful when writing DQL procedures to transfer data to local table.
I would be happy to continue this discussion by e-mail if you wish.

Tasos
tasos
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: UCLH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Postby KjetilUrne » Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:00 pm

Sounds great, Tasos.

I just PM'd you my email
KjetilUrne
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Postby KjetilUrne » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:06 am

With good help from Tasos it became clear to me that i did the following "mistake":

I usually check the forreign tables by double-clicking them under the â€
KjetilUrne
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
 
 

Return to Advanced

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest