How to Migrate from Access

Moderators: Phil Winkler, Graham Smith, Pete Tabord

How to Migrate from Access

Postby Blair » Fri Sep 28, 2007 1:21 pm

Incidentally, we can migrate tables and data from Access also.

I have an Access 2003 database (CoreData.mdb) containing customer records and I need to bring all this data into a new (empty) Customers form in my Ffenics application. How do I go about migrating the tables and data?

Having tried to run the ffmigrate.exe on the Access database, it only shows me an empty source folder where there is a copy of the Access app.

Hopefully, once migrated, I can then use 'Import' to get the data into the empty (Ffenics) Customers form.
Blair
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Postby Pete Tabord » Fri Sep 28, 2007 4:32 pm

Hi Blair

It's a different technique, it doesn't use the migration tool. Trina used the technique with one of our other early customers (he's also running his Ff app live already) - I'll ask her if she can post an outline of the method here. (in a separate thread)

Regards
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 
 

Return to Migration from Access

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest