Making subforms read only

Questions and Answers about DataEase for Windows

Making subforms read only

Postby robb » Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:41 pm

I want to stop people changing things in a subform. Is there any read only setting for them or am i asking a bit much?!
robb
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby benjji » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:01 pm

on the table of the subform have two fields - one field is the current data, another field is prevent entry & the derivation is the other field

on your subform, only show the prevent entry field, meaning that the data can be altered on another view, by only those who need to change it
benjji
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent & Manchester & Middlesborough
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby Adrian Jones » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:45 pm

I think Ben means virtual, not just prevent entry. Otherwise, that's how I'd do it.

Also, consider 'summary' virtuals that group together related data such as title/first/middle/last etc, or addresses. just like the way the iphone contacts does it...
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby benjji » Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:53 am

Adrian Jones wrote:I think Ben means virtual, not just prevent entry. Otherwise, that's how I'd do it.

a bit of yes & no :wink:
a virtual can't have an index, (unless you know another good tip ?)
benjji
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent & Manchester & Middlesborough
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby Adrian Jones » Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:50 am

No, I don't have such a trick.

I did assume that the read-only requirement, though, was for viewing only, and not searching (as this is a subform). Also, searching on a virtual is not 'painful' if you already have a subset of records, and the main form will usually be filtering out related records to a much smaller set.

'painful' being a relative thing. I did some virtual searches last night that were slow. did something similiar this morning, and it was really quick -- so quick I though we were working on a local copy, and not on the server 5 miles down the road.
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby robb » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:23 am

Thanks for that, i'll give it a try today. It is only going to be used for viewing, just need to stop them being able to mess with the data!!
robb
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Making subforms read only

Postby Graham Smith » Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:07 pm

FWIW, you can make an entire form Prevent Data Entry. You can also remove all the buttons and menu commands that allow a user to delete or change records.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 
 

Return to DataEase for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron