The Red Close button

Questions and Answers about DataEase for Windows

The Red Close button

Postby robb » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:42 am

Is there any way of either disabling or being able to put a yes/no message on the close button in the Control Box at the top right of the screen (red button white X)? One of my customers has hit upon the problem that when shutting down reports he tends to click that one instead of the one for the report and shuts down the whole of DataEase!!
robb
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: The Red Close button

Postby Phil Winkler » Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:15 pm

Tell him not to do that. How do you fix stupid? :roll:
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: The Red Close button

Postby Graham Smith » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:46 pm

Not in DataEase. It is possible in Ffenics to keep it from closing if there are any open documents but you can't completely turn it off.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: The Red Close button

Postby Stewart Allen » Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:22 am

Robb

There is a way to stop users from closing the app without going through a pre-defined startup form.

You have to define the app login to use a Chain menu as startup.

In the Chain menu there must be at least one button with action to open your normal Startup Form or 'Menu' form.
The app will then only close when the Startup form is closed.

Note: this is in DE6.52. The same can be done using a procedure in DE7
Stewart Allen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: The Red Close button

Postby Graham Smith » Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:32 pm

Stewart Allen wrote:You have to define the app login to use a Chain menu as startup.

I don't recall ever running across that. I never used a chain menu in DFW and actually don't even recall how to set one up.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: The Red Close button

Postby Stewart Allen » Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:30 pm

Any normal DE (before 7) Menu document is automatically a chain menu if it contains only buttons with 'Document Open' actions.
Stewart Allen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 
 

Return to DataEase for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron