Convert () function from Text to ASCII

Questions and Answers about DataEase for Windows

Convert () function from Text to ASCII

Postby robb » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:58 pm

Working from ASCII to text seems to work fine but in the opposite direction (Text to ASCII), it doesn't despite the fact that i'm told it should. Do you need to change anything to get it to go from Text to ASCII?
robb
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Convert () function from Text to ASCII

Postby Adrian Jones » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:16 pm

n + ASCII Number gives you the character.
c + character gives you the ASCII number.

e.g.

convert ( "n43" ) = plus sign '+' .
convert ( "c+" ) = 43 .

This DQL will give you a table of all the options:

Code: Select all
for Looper with LoopNo <= 255 ;
  list records
    concat ( "n" , LoopNo ) ;
    convert ( concat ( "n" , LoopNo ) ) ;
    concat ( "c" , convert ( concat ( "n" , LoopNo ) ) ) ;
    convert ( concat ( "c" , convert ( concat ( "n" , LoopNo ) ) ) ) .
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: Convert () function from Text to ASCII

Postby robb » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:18 pm

Yep, works fine now. Thanks.
robb
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 
 

Return to DataEase for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron