Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Questions and Answers about DataEase for Windows

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby A.M. Informatica » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:27 am

It is possible to redirect dlls in 7 using the old Windoze 2000 method of dot local eg. Dataease.exe becomes dataease.exe.local and DE65 becomes DE65.local
Windows 7 can then be forced into the redirection by changing the DevOverrideEnable key in the Registry.


Hi John,

we should necessarily use dfw 6.52 with windows7 but we cannot understand what we have to do.
Can you provide a more detailed description of the operations to be done please?
We would be very grateful for this.. :)

Thanks!
Best regards,
Maurizio
A.M. Informatica
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Phil Winkler » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:10 pm

I doubt you can get it done at all. Certainly not networked so where is the value? Nope. Move to Ffenics or Dfw 7.x (after full testing).
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby JoeyHuman » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:37 pm

Phil Winkler wrote:I doubt you can get it done at all. Certainly not networked so where is the value? Nope. Move to Ffenics or Dfw 7.x (after full testing).


That is all good and fine, but we run a system on DataEase 6.54 that is updated at least once every two to three months and purchasing 400 new licenses is far to costly :(
Joey Human
Database Consultant
Krugersdorp, South Africa
JoeyHuman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: Krugersdorp, South Africa
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Phil Winkler » Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:19 pm

Understood.

So, don't move to Windows 7. In some versions of it I think you can run in XP compatibility mode which may work.

With 400 licenses you could likely get a great price on Ffenics, tho.
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Simon Brown » Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:57 pm

XP compatibility mode in Windows 7 requires that your hardware supports virtual environments, new hardware doesn't neccesarily support it (I recently built a core 2 duo and the motherboard involved didn't support it).
Simon Brown
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby JoeyHuman » Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:30 pm

Problem is most new computers now come with Windows 7 preloaded. We've already had three pretty unhappy clients this week and how sure can I be that my massive database is going to migrate to Ffenics without problems. It contains 194 Tables, 472, forms and views, 1343 Procedures and approximately 2000 relationships
Joey Human
Database Consultant
Krugersdorp, South Africa
JoeyHuman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: Krugersdorp, South Africa
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Phil Winkler » Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:28 pm

Joey, The ff migration tool provides an error log of potential problems.

If you would like to send me a data-less backup of your app I'll provide you an analysis and proposal.
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Graham Smith » Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:04 pm

JoeyHuman wrote:how sure can I be that my massive database is going to migrate to Ffenics without problems. It contains 194 Tables, 472, forms and views, 1343 Procedures and approximately 2000 relationships

I migrated an app with 330 tables and over 1800 documents (forms, aspects, reports, and procedures). It took me about two days to find and fix all the problems that no one knew existed in the DFW app and a few days of testing to find and fix some other things.

And, I must comment, that I really question the need of having 2000 relationships with only ~200 tables - that's 10 per!!!
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Phil Winkler » Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:34 pm

2000 relationships with that number of tables could very well indicate an un-normalized structure.
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Stewart Allen » Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:53 pm

Posted on the DE forum:
http://www.dataease.com/feedback/

Hello,

I have just installed virtual-pc/Win XP Mode on Windows 7/64 - 6.52 and 4.53 run perfectly!

Regards,

Stein B.
Stewart Allen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby A.M. Informatica » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:12 am

Hi Stewart ,

we have installed virtual-pc/Win XP Mode on Windows 7/32 bit professional - 6.52 (DE65LOC) but we get the same error.. (as in Windows7)

Have you done some setting in virtual-pc ?

Thanks!
Best regards,
Maurizio
A.M. Informatica
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby JoeyHuman » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:45 am

Graham Smith wrote:And, I must comment, that I really question the need of having 2000 relationships with only ~200 tables - that's 10 per!!!


There are plenty procedures with lookups to the tables - the relationships are used for that
Joey Human
Database Consultant
Krugersdorp, South Africa
JoeyHuman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: Krugersdorp, South Africa
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Stewart Allen » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:49 am

Hi Maurizio

You will have to contact Stein B Evensen on the DE Forum
http://www.dataease.com/feedback/
Stewart Allen
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Graham Smith » Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:44 pm

The "so-called" XPMode is a modified version of VirtualPC combined with a special version of XP. Reviews are still out on this but many technical experts consider it to be, at best, a kludge.

To install it, you will need Win7 Professional or Ultimate, it won't work on the Home version. You'll also need a fairly new CPU that supports "VT" (you can find lists on the internet) and a good chunk of memory to run it along side your normal desktop. I've got a dual core computer with 3gb and I can't run it even though my chip is on the list.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Running DE 6.52 in Windows 7

Postby Richard » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:09 pm

Hi All ,

Here is what I have done to get DE652 working in Windows 7.

Firstly Install DE652 as normal.

It will create a folder on the root of C: called DE652.

Rename the Datease Folder on the root of C: --- Example C:\DE652 rename to C:\DE652.local

Go into the C:\DE652.local folder and make a copy the dataease.exe , and rename it to Dataease.exe.local

Set your environment variables up as normal , point your shortcut to the original C:\DE652.local\Dataease.exe.

And all should be ok . :D :D :D

We have got this working on a few network now , one computer was truoblesome but this was down to the install.

Please let me know if this works for you.

Richard Randle
Technical director
Sumari Business Systems Ltd
Richard
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: Birmingham, U.K
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 
 
PreviousNext

Return to DataEase for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron