Windows7 and DfD

Questions and Answers about DataEase for DOS

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby Pete Tabord » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:29 pm

All the machines on sale in the local PC World are 64 bit. Many have 8gig of main memory. Do you all really think that the purchasers are going to downgrade to 32bit and only use 3gig of it? It's like running CP/M on a DOS machine.

Of course if you have an existing DFD system you can try and keep it going, but as I say, the end of the road is clearly in sight, if we aren't actually past it and riding on the dirt.
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD - 64 bit

Postby Pete Tabord » Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:48 am

Update. You CAN - in a limited way - run DOS on 64 bit.

I have managed to get DFD5.5 running on a windows 7 64bit machine using DOSBOX 0.74 (shareware download).

I have not tried to get network support because I don't need it, but DOSBOX does have ipx emulation so it might be possible to get it using old Novell or DOS network shells. It no doubt will require more parameter juggling though. You might also be able to use DOSBOX to 'mount' a mapped network drive , but you'd have to check you got locking at that point.

The key to getting it running is to turn xms on and ems and umb's off in your DOSBOX startup. This is counter-intuitive - normally you would want umb's at least - but it works.

I'm not using any XP virtual machines or compatibility settings.

I've had no luck with 4.53, either dease or de16m. Dease gets the sign on screen up then crashes, de16m kills the whole machine - which is impressive! But of course the 16M support in 4.53 predates xms - its vcpi or something if I remember correctly.

Still makes every sense to plan your move out of it as soon as you can. But at least for any determined soul who wants to take DFD into the 22nd century I've pointed the way past the first hurdle :)
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby webplusplus » Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:37 am

The following may help:

1) Install free version of VirtualBox ( http://www.virtualbox.org ) ;
2) Create MS-DOS (or one of its clones) VM or just download FreeDOS VM image from http://virtualboxes.org/images/ ;
3) Download and install MS Network Client for DOS ( some instructions may be found at https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=47461 ; also, make sure that SMB signing is disabled or at least isn't required by your Win server ).

Although I didn't get a chance to try this environment with DEDOS, it works well enough to run a number of other DOS-based DBMS. Yes, there are some troubles with printing, but they can be resolved with utilities like DosPRN.
webplusplus
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby earlwer » Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:51 am

webplusplus wrote:The following may help:

1) Install free version of VirtualBox ( http://www.virtualbox.org ) ;


Install Windows XP. Works great.

Other advantage with VirtualBox: You can backup and transfer the entire virtual PC to another machine in a single (large) file.
earlwer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby webplusplus » Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:18 pm

earlwer wrote:Install Windows XP. Works great.


There may be some licensing issues.
http://www.zdnet.com/want-to-run-xp-as-a-virtual-machine-under-win7-virtually-no-chance-4010015766/
webplusplus
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD - 64 bit

Postby Graham Smith » Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Pete Tabord wrote:I have managed to get DFD5.5 running on a windows 7 64bit machine using DOSBOX 0.74 (shareware download).
<snip>
The key to getting it running is to turn xms on and ems and umb's off in your DOSBOX startup. This is counter-intuitive - normally you would want umb's at least - but it works.

I've got someone who wants to work on an old DFD5 database prior to my extracting all the data. I've got a Virtual XP machine I can run this on but they don't, so I thought I'd give DOSBox a try.

I've downloaded and installed v0.74 and tried to get DE16m to run but it just hangs and won't start. I checked the confiburation file and XMS was set to True and I changed the EMS and UMB to False.

When I ran DE16M, it said "Loading DataEase", then hung up.

Anyone have any suggestions for getting this running?
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby Pete Tabord » Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:11 am

Hi Graham - heres my dosbox configuration file - host machine is Windows 7 pro 64bit. Dosbox version 0.74
Code: Select all
# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
#       fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
#       fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
#   fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#                     Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
#                     If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
#                     (output=surface does not!)
#           output: What video system to use for output.
#                   Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
#         autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
#      sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
#      waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
#         priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
#                     pause is only valid for the second entry.
#                   Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
#       mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
#     usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1024x768
windowresolution=1024x768
output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
#  machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
#           Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
#  memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
#             This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
#             though few games might require a higher value.
#             There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
#    aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
#    scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#              If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
#            Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
#      core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
#            Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
#   cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
#            Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
#    cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#            Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
#            Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
#              'auto'          tries to guess what a game needs.
#                              It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
#              'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
#                              (Example: fixed 4000).
#              'max'           will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#           
#            Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
#   cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#   nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
#      rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
#            Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
#     mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#             Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#             Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
#  sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
#          Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
#  sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#     irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#     dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
#    hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
#          Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
#          Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
#  oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
#          Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
#          Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
#      gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#  gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
#           Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#  gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
#   gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
#   gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
#           Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
#           there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#           the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
#           with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
#    pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#     tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
#            Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
#            Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
#    disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
#               2axis (supports two joysticks),
#               4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
#               4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
#               fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
#               none disables joystick emulation.
#               auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
#               (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
#               Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
#        timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
#     autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
#       swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
#   buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
#          Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
#          Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#          parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
#          for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
#                           (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
#          for modem: listenport (optional).
#          for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
#                         transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
#          Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
#          Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
#            xms: Enable XMS support.
#            ems: Enable EMS support.
#            umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=false
umb=false
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
mount c c:\dosprogs
c:
cd dfd553
de16m


Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby Graham Smith » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:43 pm

Thanks but that's still not working. How do you handle DENAME and DEPATH?
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby Pete Tabord » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:57 pm

I'm not running multiuser - don't know how to do that. So I don't need dename / depath. But that's the easy bit, surely - just add them to the autoexec part of the config file above.

The problem is you'd have to get DOS network drivers - I think someone mentioned a possible way above but I haven't tried it.

I just fiddled about with the memory settings until it worked, so possibly the above config is only valid for a Compaq NX6325 :(
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Windows7 and DfD

Postby Graham Smith » Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:30 pm

Thanks. I'm not doing multi-user and even if I were I would expect to get past the splash screen. I'm also not using full screen as you are but trying that didn't help. This seems to be a memory issue so I'll putz with that.

If this doesn't work, I can try FreeDOS with a VM.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 
 
Previous

Return to DataEase for DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

cron