NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Questions and Answers about DataEase for DOS

NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Don Metzger » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:53 pm

This is something that just started out of nowhere.

Running 5.16, I get the window message:
NTVDM.EXE has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience. with the option to send MSFT an error report.

Once I close the window, the DE app is alive and well on the task bar and no auxiliary programs that I normally run with it like FrontEnd or Freddy's formsExpress work.

Could it be from one the latest updates to Windoze XP recently installed from the glorious Gates Corporation causing this?

:?
Don Metzger
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Phil Winkler » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:02 pm

Yes. Don't do that anymore. You have been warned. :roll:
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Don Metzger » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:06 pm

Even security updates?
Don Metzger
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Phil Winkler » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:22 pm

No. I meant don't run de16m.exe anymore. Obviously that is the problem.

Don't run it and you won't see the error. It works for me. :)
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Don Metzger » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:25 pm

Gee Phil, that was so funny I forgot to laugh!

:lol:
Don Metzger
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Fred Kingston » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:44 pm

I don't know what the issue is..but mine runs fine in Win7 and I've applied all MS updates automatically with no issues..

Maybe fiddlin' with the compatibility stuff in the shortcut properties will help??
Fred Kingston
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Phil Winkler » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:30 pm

NTVDM errors like you are seeing are often caused by an invalid drive or path in the desktop shortcut or batch file being called. So, check all those details. There is always a reason.
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Graham Smith » Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:09 pm

The fundamental problem may come down to the fact that Windows computers are like snowflakes. No two are exactly alike.

If I recall, back in the Win95 or Win98 days, there was a patch that stopped NTVDM from working. But only some people were effected by it. Two machines in the same office could both be "up-to-date" on patches and one would work and the other wouldn't.

A lot of software was effected by this so the problem was found fairly quickly and removing that patch fixed the problem.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: NTVDM.EXE Error When Starting DE516

Postby Don Metzger » Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:04 pm

Turns out, one of the latest updates from Microsoft IS causing the problem.
After uninstalling security update KB2707511, all is well again!

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... f979e599af


:D
Don Metzger
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 
 

Return to DataEase for DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron