5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Questions and Answers about DataEase for DOS

5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Robert Parker » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:07 am

Hi

My client has several applications using DataEase that I am looking to refresh/upgrade or at least assess what the future options are. It it probably wouldn’t surprise you to know that there is no one remaining in the organisation who has development knowledge of this application, it is just used by the business team. However, right at the start of the investigation, I am confused by the DataEase version numbering.

At the top of the sign-on screen it shows “DataEase 5.12 16M” and “Copyright Triangle Software International., USA 1995, 1996”. It is a fixed width character UI but within a Windows frame. Is this version “DataEase for DOS” or “DataEase for Windows” ?

It is confusing because
• the diagram on http://www.dataease.com/test_article_vi ... eld1=00041 shows “DOS 5.x” and “DFW 1.0- 6.52”, so anything starting with a “5” in the version number could be either DOS or Windows?
• the DataEase Software History (http://dataconsultancy.org/wp-content/u ... istory.pdf) does not list 5.12 but shows versions starting with a “5” could be either Windows or DOS

[I apologise for this strange question, I could probably find out if I rummaged around in the shortcuts and applications used by the business team but I currently don’t have access to the application, it’s at a different site and I would have to go through the business team, emailing questions and relying on their available time, goodwill and understanding]

thanks
Robert
Robert Parker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:04 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Gil Fleming » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:09 am

If it's a fixed width character UI (80 characters wide) then it's Dataease for DOS.
Gil Fleming
Director
Fleming Technical Limited

You can't think about what you don't know - Mike Fidler
If you can't fight, wear a big hat - John S Fleming
The best way to have a good idea is to have lots of ideas - Linus Pauling
Gil Fleming
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:26 am
Location: Liverpool, UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Phil Winkler » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:03 pm

For awhile they (DataEase/Triangle/, etc.) marketed a product called SmartPad which was a GUI wrapper for the Dos product. It went nowhere, but made for some good jokes. Maybe that is what you are seeing?
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Adrian Jones » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:45 pm

Go on, give us one of the jokes :)
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Phil Winkler » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:28 pm

A group is in a conference room when one says "What's that I smell?" and a woman says, "That's my SmartPad!" :mrgreen:
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby andyclinton59 » Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:27 pm

I can't see that anyone has given him a proper answer.

I am sure that the banter is good fun, but when someone has a serious request we should try to answer it properly first.

It is DataEase for DOS by the way, the 16M should have clinched it.

And it is not run in SmartPad, just a DOS window in Windows... which would give you a Windows frame.
andyclinton59
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Phil Winkler » Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:34 pm

Do you have knowledge of this app?

Robert, next there hit alt-enter with your cursor in the DataEase window and see if it expands to full screen.
Phil Winkler
PLM Consulting, Inc.
pwinkler@plmconsulting.com
Phil Winkler
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Gil Fleming » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:33 am

andyclinton59 wrote:I can't see that anyone has given him a proper answer.


Andy, if you check my response above, a proper answer was given. There's nothing wrong with a bit of light-heartedness mixed in with the serious stuff.

:)
Gil Fleming
Director
Fleming Technical Limited

You can't think about what you don't know - Mike Fidler
If you can't fight, wear a big hat - John S Fleming
The best way to have a good idea is to have lots of ideas - Linus Pauling
Gil Fleming
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:26 am
Location: Liverpool, UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby andyclinton59 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:04 am

I admit that my reply was a little "dour" and I do appreciate the banter but we have to realise that not everyone on here goes "way back" in the DE/Ffenics world.

Your answer was by far the best, but I don't think anyone (in the know) was ever in doubt that this was DFD. I just felt that the question needed a clear an concise answer.

It was stupid by DataEase to use the same version numbers on both DFD and DFW, especially in hindsight....

16M is a dead give away for DFD and DFW would have said: DataEase for Windows (They were quite proud of the Windows bit back then I think....) and after searching on GOOGLE the ugly kids drawing that would have been the first thing you saw anyway:

http://www.normboynton.com/dfw0.gif
andyclinton59
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:42 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: 5.x is DataEase for DOS ?

Postby Tim » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:33 am

You could also use “WHATVER.EXE” found in the DataEase folder this will tell you the software version and user count also if its DFW or not.

Tim Hammond
Data Consultancy
http://www.dataconsultancy.co.uk
Tim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:53 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 
 

Return to DataEase for DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron