Default Printer

Moderators: Phil Winkler, Graham Smith, Pete Tabord

Default Printer

Postby Pete Tabord » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:22 pm

I have just made the unfortunate discovery that Windows 10 will, if not prevented, change the default printer to the last used printer.

This is bad. Very bad. Since the Converter is another printer, it means that every time you use the converter it will become the default instead of the printer you were using for your printed output. Any app that habitually used named printers as well as the default will also hit trouble unless not one single document prints to default.

Fortunately, you can turn it off. Settings->devices->printers -let windows manage my default printer =off.

What were they thinking?
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Default Printer

Postby Graham Smith » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:45 pm

The November update added a switch to allow you to change this. If you haven't updated then you can change it in the registry.

HKEY_Current_User\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows\LegacyDefaultPrinterMode = 1
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Default Printer

Postby Pete Tabord » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:47 am

For years MS have been telling us that programs shouldn't switch the default printer around and then suddenly its the approved behaviour?

What if you are running two programs that use different printers - a conventional and a label printer , for example?

As you say, you can now turn it off, but for many people it won't be obvious what is going on.
Peter J. Tabord
Head of Development
Database Software Ltd.
ptabord@ffenics.com
Pete Tabord
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Caernarfon, Gwynedd, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
 

Re: Default Printer

Postby Gil Fleming » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:54 am

Surely the company that brought us WIndows 8 couldnt get it THIS wrong?

I just noticed the issue this morning when I tried to print off a customer's purchase order and the printer was set to ffenics.

Thanks for the heads up.
Gil Fleming
Director
Fleming Technical Limited

You can't think about what you don't know - Mike Fidler
If you can't fight, wear a big hat - John S Fleming
The best way to have a good idea is to have lots of ideas - Linus Pauling
Gil Fleming
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:26 am
Location: Liverpool, UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
 
 

Return to Ffenics 1.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron