Cannot access forms

Moderators: Phil Winkler, Graham Smith, Pete Tabord

Cannot access forms

Postby Paul Nelson » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:08 am

Hi all

I am experimenting with Webelements. I have successfully installed the app and published some test forms. Version 1.51, Win XP Pro SP3 with all updates.

When I select a form and click on the Submit button after a delay I get the following page displayed:

The page cannot be displayed
There is a problem with the page you are trying to reach and it cannot be displayed.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

Open the asus901 home page, and then look for links to the information you want.
HTTP 500.100 - Internal Server Error - ASP error
Internet Information Services

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Technical Information (for support personnel)

Error Type:
Server object, ASP 0177 (0x800401F3)
Invalid class string
/FFWEBPUB/main.asp, line 407


Browser Type:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; InfoPath.1)

Page:
GET /FFWEBPUB/main.asp

Time:
31 July 2009, 10:57:21

Can anyone point me in the right direction please?

Thanks in advance.

Paul
Paul Nelson
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Graham Smith » Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:12 am

I believe that something may be wrong with your setup. There are several steps to the setup that seem to be the same but are slightly different. I suggest you start at the beginning of the setup and walk through it step-by-step and check to make sure that each thing has been done correctly.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Paul Nelson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:43 pm

Hi Graham

I checked the setup and I am convinced all is as required. Tried an uninstall and re-install from scratch with the same result.

I then tried the install (using exactly the same sequence) on another PC - identical spec or so I thought! - and it worked first time.

Puzzled I returned to the original PC and tried again - same error.

I then noticed that the PC that worked had the .NET framework installed. I installed this on the original PC and all is now working!

Can anyone confirm that the .NET framework is required and, if so, can I suggest that this is added to the documentation.

Paul
Paul Nelson
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Graham Smith » Sun Aug 02, 2009 12:54 pm

I don't think that the .Net framework is required, but I think that there is a piece that it does need and I thought that was included in the instructions for the install. I don't have access to my notes on this but will have a look tomorrow.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Paul Nelson » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:12 pm

Hi Graham

Thank you - I will look forward to finding the missing piece - whatever it is!

Paul
Paul Nelson
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Adrian Jones » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:18 am

I don't think .NET is required -- the pages are written in classic ASP.
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Graham Smith » Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:47 am

I just checked and what I was thinking about pertains to Internet Explorer. You need to be using a version of IE (6.0 or greater) that has version 2 XML Parser Library installed. You can download the most current version from Microsoft.

This may or may not be the problem.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Graham Smith » Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:30 pm

Update to my previous post. The XML files are in the MSXML4 directory of the install download of Ffenics.
Graham Smith
DataSmith, Delaware
"For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
"X-Clacks-Overhead: GNU Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
Graham Smith
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Paul Nelson » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:50 pm

Hi Graham

As part of the setup I had already run MSXML4.msi (the folder is part of the expanded 1.51 zip). This still did not solve the problem.

Installing the .NET framework did solve the problem - and accepting both your comments and Adrian's comment that the .NET framework is not necessary - I am puzzled as to why installing it solved the problem!

We may never track what did or did not happen in this particular case but if I encounter a similar problem on another PC I think I will at least try installing the .NET framework in case it works again.

Thank you for your input.

Paul
Paul Nelson
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Adrian Jones » Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:58 am

I can only guess that installing the framework makes other changes, for example to XML parsing (as mentioned), or maybe to IIS.
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Paul Nelson » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:18 am

Hi Adrian

Microsoft installs/updates are always an unknown. It would be helpful to know exactly what is installed / updated so that when presented with a problem like this it would be a simple task to track down exactly what needs to be done. Installing the .NET framework does seem to be a sledgehammer to crack a nut especially if you have no other need for the framework!

Thank you for the input.

Paul
Paul Nelson
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: Leicestershire UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
 

Re: Cannot access forms

Postby Adrian Jones » Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:27 am

I'd suggest that having the .NEt framework around is not an issue, and you may find that many apps moving forward are .NET-based anyway. Just think of it as part of the windows operating system (almost!).

For example, I suspect, though am not 100% sure, that the app that runs Vodafone mobile broadband is a .NET one.
User avatar
Adrian Jones
 
Posts: 2000
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
 
 

Return to Ffenics WebElements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron